RSS

Much To Talk About- 98

09 Feb

#1. Don’t Know Much About Geography— by Kenneth Davis

I bought this book yesterday to see what he had to say about geography and its impact on the world. I have read some books which give this science a lot more importance than it really should have and I was curious as to how he would treat the subject. BUT right off the bat, two things took place that disappointed me and made my interest go away.

First, he talked about history, didn’t even really get into the topic of geography but simply repeated the historical accounts you could find in any beginning history book. Second, he openly demonstrated his anti-Christian bias rendering anything he said subject. There was no attempt to be objective or honest and everything he has written so far, has this evolutionary slant.  It really would be nice if evolutionists when writing on a topic would leave their evolutionary views at the door and practice what they preach to religious people.

Evolution has nothing to do with geography so leave it out of the discussion. This brings me to the second chapter where Davis talks about the age of the earth as if that had anything to do with geography, it doesn’t so why is it in a book about geography? That is anybody’s guess  and one good one is to further brainwash people about the lie of evolution.

I get after Christian authors for not examining their topics well enough and resorting to filling pages with a gospel message so i am not being hypocritical here. if you are going to write about a topic, write about a topic and leave the extra stuff out. For Christians, this means being honest about the subject, doing good research, writing clearly so people can understand what your point is and so on. We do not need to preach to the choir but we do need to educate them as God wants and that means fully explaining difficult areas of life and showing them the correct Christian approach to the topic.

#2. A Pregnant Daughter-http://www.christianpost.com/news/how-to-respond-when-your-teen-daughter-announces-shes-pregnant-133305/

As you’ll hear on today and tomorrow’s program, “Hope for Women Facing an Unplanned Pregnancy,” the initial reaction from many parents is decidedly negative. They erupt in anger or even detach emotionally and pull away from their daughter entirely.

I have actually thought on this subject prior to the publishing of this article and program but I used a scenario where I was a pastor , since I have been one and work in this little ministry today. Maybe I am different as I do not need a radio show or a lot of people to tell me how to respond to critical situations. Their ideas may not be the same as God’s or follow God’s word very closely.

I do agree that many parents respond negatively but that is because parents have this ideal life laid out for their children and rarely tell their kids about those idealistic dreams. Also, they forget that temptation leads to people making mistakes and wisdom is called for not anger. Here are my thoughts on what I would do and I have not listened to that show nor read anything else on the topic:

The first thought for me is asking myself where I failed.  Even though it may be my daughter’s sin and actions I would feel that I failed somewhere.

Second, I would be sad. I would be disheartened that my daughter would do such a thing. I do not care what other people think but I do care about what God thinks and would not hold other people’s views or gossip about her over her head. What they think means nothing. What God thinks is most important.

Third, I would separate myself from my daughter for a few days. Both to think through the issue, calm down, to see what God wants me to do and to teach her a lesson about what sin does to her friendship with God. In my alone time I would think heavily upon 1 Tim. 3:4-5

He must be one who manages his own household well, keeping his children under control with all dignity (but if a man does not know how to manage his own household, how will he take care of the church of God?), (NASB)

I am not one of those people who takes God’s directions lightly and though I did not commit the sin, her actions tells me something about my management and I would feel that I would not be able to continue to pastor a church. (Of course, if I were not a pastor, these verses would not apply)

Fourth, still not speaking or seeing my daughter, I would resign from my position in the church hoping that this action, though being obedient to God’s word, would teach my daughter the consequences of her actions.

Fifth, I would finally allow my daughter to see me and I would open my arms and wait for her to come into them. I do not change my views or beliefs about God or his word but seek to stay within his instructions as we handle this problem. I would show my daughter love and forgiveness as well as discipline and teaching her important lessons about life and God. We do not sweep this under the rug and say it is okay or that God is wrong about pre-marital sex and so on but show her that what we believe is important and God’s words are very important and that even if family members sin, we cannot do so, even in our response to their sins.

Sixth, If she asked why  I resigned I would tell her why and then tell her that she needs me and that I am not going away. Mistakes happen, people fall to temptation but we do not sin in response to such events but follow Christ’s teaching in handling the matter. This situation is not a scandal, it is not an embarrassment nor anything like that. It is simply a sin which needs to be dealt with in a biblical way and the person committing the sin needs to properly repent, and ask forgiveness not be condemned or cast out of the house.

Seventh, My wife and I would work with her through the pregnancy, especially if the boy is not going to man up and do his responsibilities.

Whether you agree with this approach or not doesn’t matter to me. it is the way I would  handle the situation. Staying close to God’s word is important when family members sin. Too often too many people want to appear to be spiritual thus they over-react to the problem but to be spiritual one just has to obey God and follow his lead.

#3. What About God?http://www.christianpost.com/news/bobby-schullers-hour-of-power-names-phil-cooke-as-executive-producer-to-take-program-to-new-levels-133512/

He is a dynamic communicator and has worked with incredible ministries and religious leaders. We’re eager to take the program to new levels and produce compelling content that will entice and excite people with the message of the Gospel. Phil is the perfect partner to help us accomplish this.”

I would like to see the scripture references they use to justify this thinking.

Last year, Cooke defended the much-debated Darren Aronofsky film “Noah.”

While several Christian observers, such as evangelist Ray Comfort, said that the Hollywood production failed to display the truth behind the biblical story, Cooke said that “Sin is evident in the film, God’s saving grace is evident in the film.”

This tells me what I need to know in order to evaluate his judgment and how he views scripture. The real question is, are they telling the people the truth or not? The, are they truly following the HS and scripture?

#4. Obama’s Faith http://www.christianpost.com/news/obama-those-who-question-my-christian-faith-dont-know-me-but-a-non-christian-president-would-be-ok-133160/

President Barack Obama said that those who believe he is not a Christian do not know him, but even if he were not a Christian, there would be nothing wrong with that. Obama made the remarks in a speech in New Delhi, where he called on India to do more to safeguard religious freedom.

He may still be a Christian, a very weak and delude done but still a believer as that entitlement is up to God. One thing we can say about his faith is that his actions deny his claim and he does not side with God on spiritual issues.

Every person has the right to practice their faith how they choose, or to practice no faith at all, and to do so free from persecution and fear.”

But if you are going to claim to be a Christian, then you must practice your faith as God has taught and commanded throughout the Bible. You cannot change the Bible to fit your ideas or how culture determines life should be. Being a Christian means one follows God, and does not demand that God follow them.

#5. Obtain Good Comprehensionhttp://www.christianpost.com/news/obama-those-who-question-my-christian-faith-dont-know-me-but-a-non-christian-president-would-be-ok-133160/

Humanity has been grappling with these questions throughout human history. Unless we get on our high horse and think this is unique to some other place, remember that during the Crusades and the Inquisition, people committed terrible deeds in the name of Christ,” he said. “In our home country, slavery and Jim Crow all too often was justified in the name of Christ.”
These are the words and here is Mr. Graham’s response
Jesus taught peace, love and forgiveness. He came to give His life for the sins of mankind, not to take life. Mohammad, on the contrary, was a warrior and killed many innocent people,” wrote Franklin Graham in a Facebook post. “True followers of Christ emulate Christ—true followers of Mohammed emulate Mohammed.”
I am sorry but Mr. Graham’s words are nowhere near a real response to Obama’s words. I understand exactly what Mr. Obama was saying and the point he was making but for some reason that point and understanding eluded Mr. Graham. I am getting the impression that a lot of religious leaders are interpreting words to fit their own ideas then attacking their own interpretation instead of taking the time to understand what was said or clarifying a misunderstanding before speaking out.
I guess they want their loyal followers to think they are doing something Christian and constructive when in reality all they are doing is making themselves look foolish. Ken Ham is good at doing this as well. I agree with Mr. Obama on that point and would like to point out that though they may not be on a major scale as the Crusades what some Christians do to other believers and unbelievers is just as terrible. The atrocities have not stopped but are justified by saying they are done in the name of God.
Now some alternative believers may  point their fingers at fundamentalists and some Christian churches but that would be an error for the alternative believers are practicing is sin and it is a different issue than what is described by Mr. Obama. You really need good comprehension skills, not interpretation, to be able to respond to others.

There is a growing refrain among non-theists: reading the Bible made me an atheist. Commonly, they point to difficult to understand Old Testament passages, including ones where God allows the death and destruction of humanity as He did with the flood in Genesis and bloody wars against the Canaanites detailed in Deuteronomy.

“Contemporary Christians have had a difficult time trying to come to grips with what they find in the Old Testament, especially those narratives that recount the destruction of whole groups of people by the acts of God,” said Thomas Howe, a professor of Bible and Biblical Languages at Southern Evangelical Seminary in Matthews, North Carolina. “Non-Christians capitalize on this and attempt to undermine our faith by calling into question either the goodness of God or even His existence.”

A challenge that some non-theists use to undermine the Christian faith is if God is so loving, why does He kill people or why does He encourage His people to commit genocide.

But those who choose to reject God do not want to listen to God’s side. If you read the Bible, God does give sinners chances to hear the right way first before bringing punishment upon a people. In Abraham’s time, the Canaanites had Melchizedek

And Melchizedek king of Salem brought out bread and wine; now he was a priest of God Most High. (Gen. 14:18 NASB)

In one era of Nineveh’s existence, they had Jonah. The Babylonians had the Israeli people as captives, Daniel as one and his 3 buddies as others. God doesn’t just destroy a people without giving them a chance to repent or hear the way of salvation. For believers start reading about God’s side so you can have a clear picture of how God acted and why. Don’t just stop at the commands to the Israelis to destroy groups of people, go beyond those words and find the real reason why God gave them.

God does the same thing today. Non-believers have their lifetimes, and the past 2,000 years to accept Christ and avoid eternal punishment but most do not make that choice. God is not the one at fault.

 

 
Comments Off on Much To Talk About- 98

Posted by on February 9, 2015 in academics, Bible, church, controversial issues, family, General Life, Justice, leadership

 

Comments are closed.

 
