RSS

My Sheep

20 Jan

Rachel Held Evans posted an article last Friday about a woman pastor

http://rachelheldevans.com/blog/follow-friday-april-fiet

and I decided to comment underneath it. Of course, I was banned Sunday but not before I got a few licks in about how Jesus did not overturn God’s male only rule for the temple priesthood or how Jesus did not give permission for women priests, preachers etc. Some of the comments in response to my posts were just nonsense as you saw the other day.

The people, like Ms. Evans, remind me of a passage of scripture. Well I should say, when I was in the shower this morning thinking about writing a personal piece for my own records and peace of mind, the thought about a particular action my dog did throughout his lifetime came to mind.{ it seems some of my best ideas come when I am in the shower, far from my computer and a long way off from my regular typing time}.

In North America when we first got him, my dog bonded to me and I to him. When I was carrying him out of the pet store, I looked at him and he looked at me and from that moment on he was my dog and I was his master. When we came to Korea, I brought him over with me  in the cabin of the plane, he did not let go of that idea that I was his master.

Whether we were at festivals, parks, or walking in the street he would never listen to one person when they tried to call him over to them. He would ignore their calls and go on about his business until i said something. The reason for this was because the Koreans and the few Westerners here did not have my voice. He knew the difference between his real master’s voice and those who were calling from outside our little group and he would not respond to these strange sounds.

As I was thinking about this, one little verse was brought into my mind by God and it is found in the Gospel of John

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me (10:27 NASB)

That is what my dog did. He heard my voice and followed it only.  Now how does this apply to people like Ms. Evans who want to change the rules of the church and bring in more women pastors? Well they are people who do not listen to their master’s voice but listen to those outsiders who do not believe God or his ways. They are led away from their master because they like the sound of the strange voice, it is sweet, soothing and alluring.

These people do not follow Jesus but try to make Jesus and the biblical writers follow them.  They do not want to humble themselves and be obedient to the voice of God but carve their own faith via their own rules regardless of the fact that that way and those rules are heavily influenced by secular, sinful influences. But it isn’t just these people who are listening to the wrong voice and following the wrong call.

Those who support homosexuality, and think they should be a part of the church while giving them a pass on repenting of their sinful behavior are also at fault. They are not listening to the voice of God who has clearly stated that such behavior is an abomination to him but turn their ears to the voices crying about equality, civil rights, and every thing else that is non-biblical.

The message to these people and others who are not mentioned here is quite clear from God and it is found in 2 Chronicles

and My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land. (7:14 NASB)

They may not think that what they are doing is sinful or wrong but what they think does not matter in this issue. it is what God thinks that is important. God has given us his rules on how he wants the church to operate, he has given us his boundaries telling us what is to be excluded from his church yet these instructions seem not to be enough for these alternative believing people as they strive to important their spoiled, selfish desires into the church and give no regard to God or his feelings.

The church needs to get back to hearing God’s voice and follow it over the many outsiders who wish to destroy the church through whispering sweet nothings into the ears of the church membership.

 
Comments Off on My Sheep

Posted by on January 20, 2015 in Bible, church, faith, family, leadership, theology

 

Comments are closed.

 
